JK to Maou Chapter 6

Finally at the Starting Town

                While continuing through the wasteland and enjoying my chatter with Pearl-chan, we finally arrived at our destination.

                「This is the Town of Beginnings. I have known of its existence for a long time now, yet this is my first time coming here.」

                「Town of Beginnings, huh. Is that the official name?」

                Stopped at the town entrance, while we gaze at the townscape of an old inn and compactly fit shops, questions begin to appear.

                「As I said, it is the Town of Beginnings. There are no other names for it.」

                「I see.」

                It seems that it wasn’t just a nickname.

                Looking as a person that grew up in modern-day Japan, there is a strong impression that it is a village rather than a town.

                It is a small settlement in the desolated land, on the small portion where nature remained. It reminds me of an RPG that I played as a child.

                「Now then, let’s head to the inn.」

                「Agreed.」

                While we had been travelling and talking, Pearl-chan suggested that when we reach the town, we should first go to the inn. Thanks to the opportunism cheat known as the Demon Lord’s powers, I’m not tired, but the desire to calm down and rest my back isn’t removed.

                Striking while the iron is still hot, we entered the town and moved to the inn at a quick pace.

                Walking down the two-meter-wide road, street booths lining both sides selling food and accessories catch my eyes. They all catch my attention, so after a quick break, it’d be fun to look around with Pearl-chan.

                As part of the influence of being summoned by Pearl-chan, it seems that I can speak and read this other world’s words. More accurately, I am sharing Pearl-chan’s linguistic abilities.

                Also, in this world, there is a morning and night, rain and lightning fall, the seasons changing, we talked about such various topics.

                「By the way, are you okay for money? Since I’m broke and if we’ll staying for a while, I’d think that we’d need a considerable amount of money.」

                Since it is necessary to make money, I can’t say any self-assured things, but because I was late in realizing that our salary pay wouldn’t be enough, I asked now to make sure.

                「Fufufun,  there’s no problem.」

                Exactly as we arrived in front of the inn. While observing its simple, two-story wooden structure, Pearl-chan puts her hand on her hip and puffs out her modest chest.

                Thank goodness. Although I have no idea where she’d store anything while wearing a one-piece dress, it seems that she does have some money on hand.

                Since it’s not like I can always be dependent, I also have to work hard to earn money to support our cohabitation life.

                「How much do you have now?」

                This world doesn’t differentiate currency by country, but uses a universal currency called Col. Just from looking at the price ranges listed on the street stalls, it’d be safe to think that it is roughly the same as Japanese yen.

                For the inn before us, the price for staying one night is 1000 Col. For an apartment scale building, costing 1000 yen for one person is indeed reasonable.

                It’s just, for two people staying multiple nights, the expenses really add up.

                Depending on how much Pearl-chan has, we might be able to only stay one night before needing to work earnestly to earn more money.

                「I don’t have even 1 Col. Even without money, if you threaten the inn owner and forcibly stay, it is fine. It is a flawless plan. How about it? Have you changed your view about me?」

                Leaking a dumbfounded sigh, I looked up to the heavens.

                The sky is completely clear to the horizons, with bird-like six-limbed creatures flying in a herd.

                Having first surmounted the unrealistic crisis of becoming the Demon Lord’s slave, I have now found myself faced with an exceedingly familiar problem of having no money.

Previous

Next

Join the Conversation

4 Comments

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started