JK Hirowaremashita Chapter 20

Overslept

In the middle of my doze, I could hear the sound of the shower.

「…n, hm…?」

Someone is currently in the bathroom. The only ones living here are me and Asahina-san, and since both of us have the day off, the cleaner won’t come.

Opening my eyes, there is a beautiful face up close, looking just like fine art. It’s Asahina-san.

Then, who is—

「…Ah, it’s… Tachibana-san, then」

I remember yesterday’s discourse.

Come to think of it, I was the one to offer that she stayed the night.

「Huh, it’s already… 10 O’clock?」

Looking at the digital clock’s display, I freeze.

Even if it’s a day off, so there are no alarms set, I slept in way too long.

Previously, on my days off I would have had a part-time job from the morning, and the mattress wasn’t that comfortable, so even if I didn’t want to, I woke up around 7.

Being able to sleep this much has only been possible since coming here.

Really, a lot has changed.

Thinking about it again, I really am living a blessed life.

「Asahina-san, please wake up, it’s morning」

Even as I shake her body, she’s showing no signs of waking up.

Rather, in a half-asleep state, she’s trying to hug me and use me as a pillow. She’s definitely not waking up.

Yesterday, she was quite drunk, so maybe she’s tired out from her work.

Thinking such, I slip out of bed in a way to not wake her up, then put on some appropriate clothes and headed out into the hallway.

「「—Ah」」

There, I ran into Tachibana-san, who was just coming out of the changing room.

「Good morning, Azusa-san. I borrowed your shower, thank you very much」

「Tachibana-san, good morning. …So, you’re up early」

An awkward mood envelops us.

Figuring it’d be bad to stand around and talk in the hallway, for the moment, we headed to the living room.

「Have some tea」

「Thank you very much」

I’m not very skilled at talking with people.

I never tried to involve myself with others throughout my schooling years, but now that is holding me back. I understand that Tachibana-san isn’t a bad person, but with unpleasant past memories flashing through my mind, I’m unable to break the ice.

「Is the president still sleeping?」

「…eh? Ah, right. I tried earlier to wake her up, but she didn’t seem likely to wake, so I let her be. …However, I think she’ll be up soon」

That person, it seems like she can’t sleep peacefully if I’m not nearby.

Saying as much, Tachibana-san covers her mouth with her hand, elegantly giggling.

「The president really does love you, huh」

「Of course, I feel very loved. It’s like I’m still dreaming」

「…Like a dream… The president also has it rough」

Rough. I wonder if Asahina-san is difficult feeling because of me.

Because we’re living together, because she is giving me love, I want to not trouble her as much as possible.

If she’s feeling burdened by me, I’d feel guilty.

…However, I doubt that Asahina-san would tell me.

I know that she’s trying now to worry me, and thinking about how kind she is, I feel happy. Even so, her not talking with me about it makes me feel sad.

I know.

This is simply my selfishness.

Despite not trusting Asahina-san, asking for her to trust me… Such a selfish desire wouldn’t be forgiven.

That’s why I’m thinking about this unilaterally.

This isn’t something to force onto her.


Previous

ToC

Next


(TL note: I’m back again~! There’s more to come as part of a Thanksgiving batch release (so give me lots~ of thanks (you don’t have to, I jest)), so stay tuned for more!

Also, don’t forget to go and support the author!

In other news, I’ve been thinking about what I’m going to work on after I finish this series (after all, I’m just about 2/3 done). Recently, I’ve been on a pretty good roll, so I’ve been considering whether or not to try taking on my favorite web novel (which doesn’t have a translation yet!) as my next main project. In fact, I’ve already translated 1.5 chapters of it, so maybe…?

I think that’s it, no special translation notes (although I could go on a tangent about asachun)… ah, check the TL notes for the previous chapter if you want to know more about Japanese apartment architecture, specifically about bathrooms.)

Join the Conversation

2 Comments

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started