JK Hirowaremashita Chapter 21

Surprised

「Azusa-cha~n… where are you~…?」

From the direction of the hallway, a pathetic voice can be heard.

Noticing the owner of the voice, the two of us smile at the same time.

「Uuh, Azusa-chan… where— Azusa-chan, there you are!」

With unsteady steps, Asahina-san enters the living room and the moment I enter her vision, a bright smile bursts upon her face.

「Good morning, Asahina-san. Quite a bit happened yesterday, but are you okay?」

「I’m not okay~. My head is throbbing, my body is sluggish, and even though it’s a day off, I can see my subordinate’s face…」

「President, I’m not a hallucination」

At Tachibana-san’s statement, Asahina-san seemed to realize that she wasn’t a hallucination or an illusion, but the person herself.

「Hold up, what are you doing in Azusa-chan and my love nest?」

Hugging me, she vigilantly glares at Tachibana-san.

What is this person saying to her trusted subordinate, I wonder.

「Last night, Azusa-san kindly offered me to stay the night, due to being late, and I gracefully accepted her offer. Truly kind isn’t she, Azusa-san」

「Of course she is! She’s my prided lover!」

Tachibana-san, amazing… She’s skilled at handling Asahina-san. Her previously gloomy atmosphere has cleared, and now she’s in such a good mood that she’s humming to herself.

So these are her skills, tempered over their long years working together.

I’d like to complain that I’m also being used in that, but… well, since Asahina-san’s happy, I guess its fine.

「Now then, I shall head home soon. If I stay any longer, the president will start treating me like a villain」

「Eh, already…? Since we have the opportunity, why not have lunch together…?」

「I’m thankful for the offer, but I’ll ask for that offer next time. I need to head home and organize some piled up documents」

「You have it rough, working on a day off」

「If someone were to work a bit harder, I’d also have it easier」

Having some light banter, Tachibana-san gathered her belongings and stood up.

「Azusa-san, thank you very much for everything. I’ll be sure to repay your kindness at a later date」

「No, you don’t really need to, for someone like me…」

「I’ve been in your care, so I won’t be satisfied until I repay you」

Like Asahina-san, Tachibana-san seems to also be a person who follows their own values.

I can somehow see a future where I’m forcibly made to accept her thanks, so I quickly give up, heaving a sigh.

「Then, please come over sometime when you’re free. …I’d like to hear more about sides of Asahina-san that I don’t know」

I heard a deeply moved voice from behind me, but I’ll ignore it.

Right now is the time to focus on Tachibana-san.

「Understood. I will make sure to come over again… that is, with the president’s permission, though」

「Azusa-chan’s saying its fine, so do as you’d like. However, meeting up when I’m not present is forbidden! I won’t give my girl to anyone!」

Saying such, I’m hugged from behind.

Tapping on her arm to tell her that her grip is tight, she finally releases me.

「I shall take that to heart… Now then, Azusa-san, see you later」

「Of course, take care」

Seeing off Tachibana-san at the doorway, I heave a heavy sigh.

Really, speaking with other people makes me tense up.

Asahina-san has a large networking, so there will likely be more times when I’ll meet various people. To prepare myself for that, I need to get used to talking with others.

「Azusa-chan」

「Yes, what is it—!」

Turning around, something soft is pressed against my lips.

「Our morning greeting, you still hadn’t done it yet, right?」

Smiling happily, Asahina-san returned to the living room.

Her steps are light.

「…That’s no fair」

While being fed up with her usual forceful tendencies, I follow after her.

At this time, the sharp beating of my heart— was still unnoticed.


Previous

ToC

Next


(TL note: Nothing in particular for this chapter.

I’ll also be posting tomorrow (as part of a Thanksgiving batch release), so look forward to that~!

Don’t forget to go and support the author!)

Join the Conversation

2 Comments

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started